MY05 Liberty 3.0 won't start after changing fuel filter

Ask for help with doing something on your car here.

MY05 Liberty 3.0 won't start after changing fuel filter

Postby wagon3.0 » Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:46 pm

Hi

I've just taken my fuel pump out and replaced the filter with a Ryco one. I replaced all the o-rings and to my knowledge I've plumbed it all back up correctly, impossible to stuff up as all the connections are specific to themselves.

I've tried priming the system by turning the key to ignition and hearing the pump working, then off and on a few times. I can hear it prime after every time I reconnect it. When the lines are all disconnected fuel pours quickly out of the middle port of the pump, but either slowly, or not at all out of the others.

Any tips for what I could've done wrong, common mistakes, or just anything about the priming process? I've never done this before so even the most obvious tip could help.

P.S this is my first time on the forum and I've done my best to pick the right board to post in and I looked through the whole of the internet to make sure there wasn't any info on it before I posted.
wagon3.0

Car: MY05 Subaru Liberty 3.0R-B Manual

Re: MY05 Liberty 3.0 won't start after changing fuel filter

Postby Surge » Wed Jan 13, 2016 6:39 pm

One thing to keep in mind is the size of the o rings. Apparently they are different and if you get them the wrong way around then you'll lose pressure.

I had to reinstall my pump just because of that.
Surge

Car: 2010 lib GT 5eat

Postby wagon3.0 » Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:38 pm

Where do all of the o rings go? I've got three on thr outlets of all the hoses but I cant find where to put the 4th
wagon3.0

Postby BillyCorgi » Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:53 pm

wagon3.0 wrote:.....When the lines are all disconnected fuel pours quickly out of the middle port of the pump, but either slowly, or not at all out of the others.....

For fuel pump description for prefacelift 3.0R-B follow this thread.....