Hardware you can use for connecting to your ECU

Tuning, diagnostics, ECUs and associated bits and bytes
Forum rules
Please respect copyright.
Do not post full copies of professionally tuned roms!

Re: Hardware you can use for connecting to your ECU

Postby triston » Sun Feb 03, 2013 5:58 pm

Ric wrote:

Do you still have the driver disk that came with it?
I'd like to try mine with my laptop, but the CD that came with it was unreadable, and the vendor claimed to have emailed me the files 4 times, and they never came. :(



I do still have it - they have about 200 meg of files on them
User avatar
triston
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:34 pm
Location: Sydney
Car: 08 GT-B tuned by Sti

Re: Hardware you can use for connecting to your ECU

Postby Rednobius » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:54 pm

Rednobius wrote:
bosc0 wrote:Anyone know anything about http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/car/e915/ ?


Have ordered one of these, will report if it works.


Well this arrived the other day, just hooked it up and gave it a run, some pics attached.

Pros:

- Cable is plenty long enough
- Charges your phone
- Checks/clears CEL etc
- Can view/check various things in real time
- Heaps of fuel related functions, MPG etc
- Most apps on appstore are free (1 does everything and costs money, the rest do some stuff, but basically all combined.)
- Very easy to use

Cons:

- Cost $130 bucks
- Slight lag/delay in what you see on the screen (RPM etc)


Connects straight into your ODB port and into your Iphone (not the 5).
P1000684.JPG
P1000684.JPG (126.61 KiB) Viewed 3703 times


No CEL at the moment so as is well!
P1000682.JPG
P1000682.JPG (167.85 KiB) Viewed 3703 times


Can check various things in real time.
P1000683.JPG
P1000683.JPG (135.66 KiB) Viewed 3703 times
Rednobius
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:49 pm

Re: Hardware you can use for connecting to your ECU

Postby Boostaddict » Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:52 am

Sorry to drag up a bit of an old thread.

I want to be able to check and clear codes and for general info, temps, boost etc etc!

What works with the iPhone 5??

Is it one of these??


OBD2 ELM327 Bluetooth CAN-BUS Scanner Tool V1.4 OBDII

I took the link off bosco's previous post and copied it back into ebay and they are still $14.59 with free delivery.... Now that seems like a freakin bargin!!!

Cheers peeps!!
Not a Subaru...... Something MUCH better

NOPE..... That's shit too. Bus anyone??
User avatar
Boostaddict
 
Posts: 2985
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Sydney
Car: 07 LGT Tuned By Sti
Real name: Daniel
Profile URL: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=22537

Re: Hardware you can use for connecting to your ECU

Postby db1 » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:30 am

I think for an iPhone you'll need a wifi version.

Apple are abit funny with their Bluetooth protocol. I think bluetooth can be used if jailbroken but I haven't looked into it yet.
db1
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:41 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Car: MY08 GTB
Real name: Don

Re: Hardware you can use for connecting to your ECU

Postby Newbie GT » Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:42 am

Boostaddict wrote:Sorry to drag up a bit of an old thread.

I want to be able to check and clear codes and for general info, temps, boost etc etc!

What works with the iPhone 5??

Is it one of these??


OBD2 ELM327 Bluetooth CAN-BUS Scanner Tool V1.4 OBDII

I took the link off bosco's previous post and copied it back into ebay and they are still $14.59 with free delivery.... Now that seems like a freakin bargin!!!

Cheers peeps!!


Dan use dash command I have when you need it and you will need wifi works very well !
Newbie GT
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Victoria

Re: Hardware you can use for connecting to your ECU

Postby Newbie GT » Tue Dec 17, 2013 11:43 am

My tuner wants me to send him a learning view to do a health check

What exactly do I need and get from ? Thank you

Program ?
A cable ? I have dash command but he said no good for health checks please help
Newbie GT
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 6:44 pm
Location: Victoria

Re: Hardware you can use for connecting to your ECU

Postby Bennoz » Fri Jan 10, 2014 1:50 pm

I just used the ELM327 & the Torque app on my MY12, worked a treat. Mind you bout the only thing I use it for is error codes lol

Image
User avatar
Bennoz
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:25 am
Location: Sydney
Car: MY12 Liberty
Real name: Ben

Previous

Return to Tuning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest