Getting CAMS/AAS License and onto the track.

Discuss F1, V8s, etc., as well as competing in your Liberty.

Getting CAMS/AAS License and onto the track.

Postby teK-- » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:55 pm

I am still pretty new to this, however I have followed a basic process walked through by a mate of mine who has already attended a few events.

From what I been advised there are typically two types of license that drivers obtain:

1. CAMS L2S - $95.00 per 12 months. You need to be a financial (paying) member of a CAMS affiliated club to get this license, but it does allow a greater range of events than just an AASA Club Racing License. For GT Liberties you can join WRX.com.au to satisfy the requirement, the cost is $100.00 for the first year, and $90.00 to renew.

Since WRX.com.au does not accept non-turbo cars for membership, 3.0L and 2.0R/2.5i owners will have to join a different club. Another club is Skylines Australia (VIC) which accepts any car for membership and the cost is $70.00 first year, $50.00 to renew. There may be other CAMS affiliated clubs that accept any car for membership so please post them up if you know of any.

2. AASA Club Racing License - $50.00 per 12 months. I am not 100% sure on this, but apparently you do not need to be a financial member of an AASA-affiliated car club to get this license. However on the application form it asks for an AASA Affiliated club or person to vouch for you. This type of license is reportedly easier/cheaper than CAMS L2S however some events will not accept this type of license.

Both types of license do not require driving logbooks or medical tests; the latter you just answer a questionnaire. I ended up getting a Skylines AU membership as I have mates who are in the club and also they have regular and varied track events. Also I applied for a CAMS L2S to maximise my options.

Other requirements: