OBD2 spec?

Stereos, amps, phone kits, Navi...

OBD2 spec?

Postby Kimmo » Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:41 am

I guess this is slightly off-topic, but it seems like this is still the best subforum for this subject...

Was looking around at boost gauges, and came across a whole genre of affordable OBD2 displays that can display all sorts of stuff. Seems interesting...

Anyway, I'm looking at this one gauge, and it says it doesn't support Japanese cars made before 2008, which I suspect is probably a bit fuzzy. The ad goes on to say, "It only support CAN ISO15765 OBD2 protocols , some Japan car model maybe can't work , please know it . thanks."

Anyone have a clue how to find out what OBD2 protocol my car is using...?
User avatar
Kimmo
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:26 am
Location: 3015
Car: 07 GT-B

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby Kimmo » Mon Nov 16, 2020 11:56 am

So according to this page, and pulling the connector and seeing which pins are wired, it's ISO 15675-4.
User avatar
Kimmo
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:26 am
Location: 3015
Car: 07 GT-B

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby bigBADbenny » Mon Nov 16, 2020 12:19 pm

Btssm, android with otg, clear blue case vagcom, otg adapter to suit your android if required.
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby bigBADbenny » Mon Nov 16, 2020 3:46 pm

Generic obdii gauges will work on your my07 GTb.

But you won’t get full SSM parameters.

You need Btssm (android) or Romraider (pc) for the best bang for buck.

But a clear blue case Ebay elm327, torque app and android is a basic obdii solution for generic gauges.

I like to diagnose my car so the aforementioned SSM logging is awesome.

And custom CAN parameters can be used with Btssm.
Eg it provides faster polling on certain parameters.

Postfl gtb is kinda half n half SSM and CAN as regards the engine management.
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby Kimmo » Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:14 pm

That's the unknown unknown I was after! BTSSM looks like the shiz!

I was looking for something that provides enough info at once, not to mention customisation, and that smacks it out of the park.

So despite this VAG COM thing being for VWs, it's the go for us, huh? I was a bit dubious, but then I saw the last review here...

Say, do you reckon there'd be any harm in hardwiring that VAG COM cable in, to leave the OBD2 port free? Can stuff be connected to it in parallel?
User avatar
Kimmo
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:26 am
Location: 3015
Car: 07 GT-B

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby bigBADbenny » Tue Nov 17, 2020 9:06 am

I have asked and it’s not two or more obdii at once.
Can’t hurt trying tho.
Iirc you’d halve the polling if it would work at all.
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby bigBADbenny » Tue Nov 17, 2020 9:08 am

Btssm is the schizz!

I run it on my stock nav...
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby Kimmo » Tue Nov 17, 2020 12:15 pm

So what do I need to spend on this VAG COM jigger? I guess this one is too cheap? (K-line only, no CAN)
Probably the same as these eBay ones, right?

Or do I need the Ross-Tech one? If so, any reason I shouldn't just get the Tactrix OP 2 as recommended by BtSsm? Why use a VW thing not even mentioned by BtSsm?

BTW, is there a resource for custom parameters?
User avatar
Kimmo
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:26 am
Location: 3015
Car: 07 GT-B

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby bigBADbenny » Tue Nov 17, 2020 3:38 pm

Just a clear blue case vagcom.

I usually buy from obdii Aus com Au or from an eBay Aus vendor.

https://obd2australia.com.au/product/va ... tic-cable/

I use mine with a tv box so the USB A plugs right in.

If you’re using an android phone, get the “otg?” app from playstore to confirm otg is native, then get a Y type otg cable for data and charge, with USB A female and the other end to suit your phone.

Eg micro USB to phone, USB A male for charge, USB female to vagcom.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Right-Angle ... 2858996990


So yes it’s all very affordable as any otg compatible android should work.
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby bigBADbenny » Tue Nov 17, 2020 3:47 pm

Custom parameters, it was a long time ago but iirc there’s an online resource where you put in your ecuid and it spits out the code.

But we have the same car so I can share mine. :P

Not sure why the k-line vagcom isn’t mentioned, probably because they’re so generic, it’s too obvious.
Also easy to fall into the trap of getting the cheapest out there and receiving a dud.

Anyway USB connection is by far the fastest connection method possible.
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby Kimmo » Wed Nov 18, 2020 7:21 am

Cool, ordered that stuff. Dunno HTF you found that Y cable though; went looking for a USB C one and gave up, just bought the one you linked plus a micro to C adapter cable (which will make installation a bit easier, at least).

Now I've just gotta knock up an adapter plate to hold my old phone in place of the cubby.

Hmm, I wonder if there's some way to make Maps download all of Melbourne so I don't have to have a SIM in it for that...
User avatar
Kimmo
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:26 am
Location: 3015
Car: 07 GT-B

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby bigBADbenny » Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:09 am

Yes you can let eg Google maps do a wifi download of a specified area :)
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby Kimmo » Wed Nov 18, 2020 6:51 pm

bigBADbenny wrote:Yes you can let eg Google maps do a wifi download of a specified area :)

Yeah, I've seen that option pop up occasionally, but no idea how to bring it up, let alone tell it to download more than just a route...
User avatar
Kimmo
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:26 am
Location: 3015
Car: 07 GT-B

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby bigBADbenny » Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:06 am

Eg in Google maps, click on your avatar/account settings and select offline apps from the dropdown menu.
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9612
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: OBD2 spec?

Postby Kimmo » Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:44 pm

Hey wow. I'm used to disappointment when I go looking for features in Google's stuff; unlike most other dev mobs, they tend to remove them over time. But hey, I can download half of Victoria in one go, and it's only a couple hundred MB. Nice.

Looking forward to putting this old phone to such good use; only used it for a year and a half or so before deciding that was enough mucking around with Chinese pretenders and splurged on a Samsung. The ZTE Axon is actually a pretty sweet phone, but after using a Samsung for work for a couple of years, I just wanted that seamless polish in the software you only get from the likes of Samsung or Apple (who shit me). Anyway, it's got an OLED panel (actually a Samsumg unit IIRC), heaps of grunt and a fat battery (redundant in this application obvs), and stereo speakers on the front, which I'm thinking in the absence of integration with the stereo, would actually be pretty neat for map directions and BtSsm alarms, probably actually preferable to having it cut into whatever I'm playing on the stereo.

Just thinking about the Samsung I bought, they are just crushing it these days. The ZTE retailed for ~$600 a few years ago, was in the 'flagship-killer' category (I bought mine used for $300). Bought the Samsung new this year for $520 or something, kinda budget for Samsung, and the A71 is a total beast!

Digressed a bit there... I'm about to do it again. You're a bit of a whiz, Bennie... don't suppose you know of any third-party YouTube curating thing? Like, someone saw how YouTube feeds you content in pretty much only one opaque way that you can't even sort by newest FFS, and made something better happen? Anyone know if that's a thing? Cause there's so much gold on YT, but I'm only prepared to wade through so much Jordan fucken Peterson to find it.
User avatar
Kimmo
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 8:26 am
Location: 3015
Car: 07 GT-B

Next

Return to Audio options

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests