Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Stereos, amps, phone kits, Navi...

Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby mjr07gtbwagon » Thu Dec 03, 2020 2:24 pm

Hi all,
i did the sub upgrade to the wife's wagon as the old on fell apart and now i cant seem to get it to work? checked all the wires and they are good and the rest of the speakers are working.
its a 07 GTB with the Macintosh system. dose the amp have a fuse or something for the Sub? i will be doing the head unit kit after X Mas so if the amps cactus i dont want to splice all the wires from the amp to the new head unit to find out it has shit its self.

any thoughts...
User avatar
mjr07gtbwagon
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:41 pm
Location: boyne island ( gladstone ) qld
Car: 07 gtb wagon
Real name: mark

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby nvmylh » Thu Dec 03, 2020 2:52 pm

Looking at a wiring diagram, all the speakers run off the 1 amp so shouldn't be a fuse.
nvmylh
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:15 pm
Location: Melbourne
Car: Turbo EJ251 Outback + '08-H6-Wagon

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby mjr07gtbwagon » Fri Dec 04, 2020 7:04 am

Thanks,
Thats what i thought, just thought there might be something strange i missed.
User avatar
mjr07gtbwagon
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:41 pm
Location: boyne island ( gladstone ) qld
Car: 07 gtb wagon
Real name: mark

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby Caution » Fri Dec 04, 2020 12:59 pm

Installed mine a few weeks ago and have the same issue. i haven't had the time to look into it tho.
it's responding... but just barely.
User avatar
Caution
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:32 pm
Location: QLD
Car: MY08 GT-B

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby mjr07gtbwagon » Fri Dec 04, 2020 1:56 pm

Ill have a look next week when im back home and see what i can fined out. it might be easier to ditch the amp and do one 4 channel for the doors and a separate one for the sub,considering the rewire you have to do to use the factory amp to new head unit... like its only money right :lol:

will keep you guys posted.
User avatar
mjr07gtbwagon
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:41 pm
Location: boyne island ( gladstone ) qld
Car: 07 gtb wagon
Real name: mark

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby Caution » Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:23 am

Sub in question: https://www.soundlabsgroup.com.au/p/V-9064-W200/W+200+-+4+Ohm
I know SFA about audio stuff... Anyone with more knowledge have any suggestions or see anything that might be an issue?
User avatar
Caution
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:32 pm
Location: QLD
Car: MY08 GT-B

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby mjr07gtbwagon » Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:20 pm

Hi All, happy new year.

So I finally had time to look at the sub and found a bad connection. its working fine now, but when I put the multimeter on the sub it only read 3.1 ohms?

Anyway now to install the new pioneer head unit and AVO JDM facia and A.C kit I got for the cook for X mas. ( she shouldn't have said Bluetooth would be nice. :D :D )
User avatar
mjr07gtbwagon
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:41 pm
Location: boyne island ( gladstone ) qld
Car: 07 gtb wagon
Real name: mark

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby bigBADbenny » Tue Jan 12, 2021 4:55 am

Member hardwarebob for conversion harness etc.

Plug n play :good:
User avatar
bigBADbenny
 
Posts: 9620
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:36 pm
Location: Collingwood, Melbourne
Car: MY07 GT-B 6MT OBP Wagon
Real name: Ben Richards
Profile URL: http://tinyurl.com/agvbzop

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby mjr07gtbwagon » Thu Jan 14, 2021 10:56 am

Thanks Benny, but made my own and shit it works.... :D :D
User avatar
mjr07gtbwagon
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:41 pm
Location: boyne island ( gladstone ) qld
Car: 07 gtb wagon
Real name: mark

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby spike2135 » Fri Jan 15, 2021 10:53 am

mjr07gtbwagon wrote:Hi All, happy new year.

...multimeter on the sub it only read 3.1 ohms?


you're measuring an AC speaker with DC resistance. Never going to be 100%, just a ballpark figure. i find the impedance usually measures a little under stated rating, nothing to worry about though.


:lol: just a way to get a vessel to hold more fish. :lol:


:roll:
User avatar
spike2135
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:09 am
Location: Melbourne
Car: BR9
Real name: Spike
Profile URL: https://ibb.co/Ky2X4V3

Re: Visaton replacement 8" sub upgrade

Postby spike2135 » Fri Jan 15, 2021 10:59 am

wait, wait, i've got another one!


Because if you're trying to fish for bass from a sub, you're bound to find a little resistance :lol: :roll: :roll:
User avatar
spike2135
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:09 am
Location: Melbourne
Car: BR9
Real name: Spike
Profile URL: https://ibb.co/Ky2X4V3


Return to Audio options

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests