Knocking/tapping sound - 2004 Outback N/A

Nearly everything is in here to start with.
If it's about your car, or Subaru's in general, put it in "Subaru Chat".

Knocking/tapping sound - 2004 Outback N/A

Postby ross1221 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:36 pm

Hey Guys,

First off, I'm no mechanic but I do have common sense and google so I have explored (what I think to be) the simple solutions already :D

The problem:
In simple, once I have driven the car for 15-20 minutes and it has warmed up, at low speeds below 2500rpm I can hear a slow ticking from what sounds like the front left wheel hub. It will happen whether I turn or drive straight. I can hear it in first, second and third gear but can not travel slow enough in fourth or fifth to hear it over my exhaust/road noise. It only happens under acceleration, not while revving in neutral or coasting and does not follow the revs, meaning it is a constant ticking/clicking speed no matter the rpm. The noise is also only audible when I have the aircon and my music off. It is the same as this video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AXh5wurWsnA

Othe info: