2004 Liberty GT - Upgrade Options

Posts specific to the 2.0 litre Turbo engine

2004 Liberty GT - Upgrade Options

Postby menace » Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:12 pm

Hi Guys,

I recently purchased a 2004 Liberty GT Premium and I am looking at doing some performance upgrades on a modest budget of about 3K - 4K. I'm a novice when it comes to turbo vehicles and would like to accumulate as much information as possible before i start making any mods.

Basically I'm looking to increase power, throttle response and I'd like to hear the Turbo spool up, all without spending cash unnecessarily or doing damage to the car.

From the research i been doing it looks like the way for me to go is:

1. Turbo back exhaust
2. Cold Air Intake (seen a covert pod kit available for the Liberty GT)
3. A Bigger Aftermarket Top Mount Intercooler (this option is a maybe, seems there are many kits available to choose from)
4. Flash Tune after I have fitted the above mods

Just wondering what you guys think would be the best way to go to get "Bang for your Buck".

I'm not quite sure about the bigger cooler - wondering what kind of gains i can expect with it? Would i get more significant gains from a bigger cooler or a sports exhaust?

What would you guys recommend? Are there any specific brands or products out there to consider? Any particular performance workshops/mechanics i should look into (Located in the Sydney area)?

I'd appreciate any advice you guys can give me. Thanks.
menace

Car: MY04 GT PREMIUM

Re: 2004 Liberty GT - Upgrade Options

Postby zch91 » Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:40 pm

Welcome to the forum mate.

TBE and tune would be first on your list to get things really happening, in regards to bang for buck. IIRC you'll need to spend minimum approx $1-1.5k+ for the TBE, depending on if you can find one s/h and what brand you go with. The dump is the most expensive part.