Head Gasket Replacement - Options?

Posts specific to the 3.0 litre NA H6 engine

Head Gasket Replacement - Options?

Postby Kesh » Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:20 am

Hey guys,

So I've been losing coolant recently, and after ruling out the cooling system as the fault, it all points towards the head gasket being on it's way out. The car has just ticked over 205,000k's so I'm wondering if there's any work I should do to the engine while it's being ripped apart. Also, given that the stock head gaskets aren't known to be that strong, is there any after market option that is both cheaper and stronger? I remember tradewind selling a kit for the 3.0 for a lot less than the OEM kit price.

Lastly, do any of you have any recommendations as to where to actually get the job done? I'm in SE Melbourne, but willing to travel to the northern suburbs to somewhere reputable, given the price is right (I'm a poor uni student :( )

So far I'm looking at Phil Lowe, Got it rex and Paul Tran Garage.

Cheers for your advice!
Kesh

Re: Head Gasket Replacement - Options?

Postby BillyCorgi » Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:29 am

3.0 Litre H6??
Must be, you are in the 3.0R section. Silly me.
Get your Short Shift Adaptor viewtopic.php?f=68&t=30525
Get your Gear Shift Rejuvenation Kit viewtopic.php?f=68&t=31240
Get your Centre Differential Rebuild viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31089
Want a custom built Brake Cylinder Stopper? viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31321
Need to hire a Guard Rolling Machine? viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31899
Get your BillyCorgi's "Not-4-Wimps" Chilli Sauce
BillyCorgi

Car: Liberty 3.0R-B Wagon E85 Flex Fuel
Profile URL: www.facebook.com/CorgiWerx

Postby blacktop™ » Mon Nov 09, 2015 9:16 am

Kesh wrote:...I remember tradewind selling a kit for the 3.0 for a lot less than the OEM kit price...
blacktop™

Car: MY07 GT spec.B wagon 6MT

Postby dan_ashcroft » Mon Nov 09, 2015 4:12 pm

I'm not sure, but I thought he was recommending Victor Reinz (spelling?) rather than selling them, could be wrong though.