3.0R Spec B Pre-purchase checks

Posts specific to the 3.0 litre NA H6 engine

3.0R Spec B Pre-purchase checks

Postby Adam_E » Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:03 pm

Hi forum gurus :)

I am going to look at an auto 3.0RB on the weekend, and want to be sure to check all the right points. It is a 2007 with 20,000km, so I'm not expecting anything too serious. It still has 2 months new car warranty + 3 months statutory warranty. From my reading here, the biggest potential issues seem to be high oil consumption and big end-bearings.

I currently own a 2003 2.5 (180,000km) which has a characteristic tic-tic-tic when cold that mostly disappears when hot. Our Subaru service agent tells me that's normal.

Should I expect that from a 3.0? Or should it be more-or-less silent, cold and hot?

What else should I check, apart from oil colour (and quantity!) and smell? Obvious crash repairs, I suppose, but what else? Anything specific about the 'semi-auto' in these, for example?

I'm a farmer that services various machinery and vehicles (plus done engine conversions, etc), but I've pretty much left the Suby up to the service agent (so I have a full log book for resale). So I know generally what I'm looking for, but any 3.0RB specific hints would be appreciated :)

Thanks in advance.
Adam_E

Car: MY08 3.0RB

Re: 3.0R Spec B Pre-purchase checks

Postby specbtommy » Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:12 pm

20,000kms only ?

correct me if im wrong my 3.0r spec b doesnt come in auto
specbtommy

Car: 2006 liberty spec b

Postby Adam_E » Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:43 pm

specbtommy wrote:20,000kms only ?

That's what the odo says, and the RTA rego check didn't indicate any anomalies.
The log book only shows two services - 4,169km and 10,154km (ie both early).
One private owner since new (a little old lady, perhaps :wink: )

correct me if im wrong my 3.0r spec b doesnt come in auto

They sure did (from 2006 onward, I think) - check out RedBook.