Haltech ECU for EZ30R

Posts specific to the 3.0 litre NA H6 engine

Haltech ECU for EZ30R

Postby Fetus_Destroyer » Sat Jul 14, 2018 4:34 pm

Hi!

I don't have a Liberty, at least not all of one. But I have its heart.
I also have a Japanese 6MT and a US market 1995 Impreza coupe shell that I've had caged for stage rally.

My plan is to stick the EZ30R on the 6MT and put it in the Impreza. The class I'll be racing allows naturally aspirated up to 3.0L, so it's perfect.

I don't have an EZ30R harness, it's DBW throttle and I'd like to use e85 and take advantage of the AVCS so I'm thinking a Haltech ECU and universal harness kit would be a cool thing to do.

Standalones are uncharted territory for me. I don't want to spend $2k on a Haltech Elite 2500 only to discover it doesn't support AVCS or DBW or requires serious coding skills.

Has anyone set up a naturally aspirated EZ30R with a standalone engine management? Which ECU did you use?
Fetus_Destroyer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 3:58 pm
Car: 1995 Impreza Coupe Rally Machine
Real name: Matt Perser

Re: Haltech ECU for EZ30R

Postby sheppo9 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 2:08 pm

I've got an Elite 2500 in my Outback with an EZ30R and 6MT swap.
I didn't do the wiring/tuning etc (waaaaaay over my simple mind) but it does the DBW and AVCS - other options I looked at did AVCS but needed another module to do the DBW (Vipec, Motec).
AM Auto did the install, wiring and base tune and Castle Hill Performance did the actual tune and fixed a couple wiring issues.
It's mafless running a single channel wideband on our 98RON (not enough E85 places near me) 3" intake to stock plenum, Raptor headers, single 100cell cat (it's too raspy), 2 Vibrant resonators (18" and 12") and an HKS Legamax muffler.

Is it an early 6MT?
Late models (around 06+) need the front housing machined for the speedo drive gear.

Edit - I've got a copy of the pin-outs if you want them too - it's got two 23 pin Deutsch connectors, one 6 pin Deutsch connector (injector 12v, coil 12v etc), two 'spare' Deutsche connectors (one 3 pin, one 6 pin just with 12v and 5 etc for things later) one 12 pin Deutsch connector in the cab (ignition switch, tacho, speed sender, fuel pump etc).
User avatar
sheppo9
 
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:44 pm
Location: ACT
Car: An Outback
Real name: Luke

Re: Haltech ECU for EZ30R

Postby Tresidder17 » Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:14 am

Perhaps watch the Mighty Car Mods Gramps/SuperGramps build for some information.

They put a 3.6L tribeca engine (pretty similar to the 3.0L) into a gen 4 liberty running on a haltech ECU and they might answer some of your questions
Tresidder17
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:11 pm
Location: Adelaide
Car: MY07 3.0 Spec.B 5EAT
Profile URL: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=35209

Re: Haltech ECU for EZ30R

Postby Jaydnisevil » Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:18 am

I've just put a E2500 in my 07 liberty, only I did it in parallel with the stock ECU.
Two reasons, one is that haltech still don't support Cruise control. The second is that there's not really enough inputs and outputs to do everything I wanted (I'm prepping for Turbo)
You can get an I/O box which will increase those inputs and outputs, but that's money I couldn't be bothered spending.

The stock ECU is controlling: DBW, Starter motor, A/C, Alternator, Fuel pump, emissions devices, and Power steering switch, etc.
Haltech is doing: AVCS, AVLS, Ignition, Fuel, Flex fuel sensor, Boost controller, Water injection, Knock control and O2 control, etc.

Works a treat :)

https://i.imgur.com/Y3aCTWd.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/frishOq.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/uVIhKE5.jpg
Jaydnisevil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:22 pm
Car: 07 BPE 3.0R-B and 05 GDB STI
Real name: Jaydn

Re: Haltech ECU for EZ30R

Postby applegeek897 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:54 am

Jaydnisevil wrote:I've just put a E2500 in my 07 liberty, only I did it in parallel with the stock ECU.
Two reasons, one is that haltech still don't support Cruise control. The second is that there's not really enough inputs and outputs to do everything I wanted (I'm prepping for Turbo)
You can get an I/O box which will increase those inputs and outputs, but that's money I couldn't be bothered spending.

The stock ECU is controlling: DBW, Starter motor, A/C, Alternator, Fuel pump, emissions devices, and Power steering switch, etc.
Haltech is doing: AVCS, AVLS, Ignition, Fuel, Flex fuel sensor, Boost controller, Water injection, Knock control and O2 control, etc.

Works a treat :)

https://i.imgur.com/Y3aCTWd.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/frishOq.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/uVIhKE5.jpg


Very interesting stuff. The factory ECU has also seemed like a really good unit.
Daily: '00 Daihatsu Cuore "Kelly" - Build Thread -
Project / Weekender: '05 Subaru Liberty 3.0R-B Wagon - Build Thread -
Motorcycle: '14 Triumph Street Triple 660 - Build Thread -
User avatar
applegeek897
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 1:02 am
Location: Sydney, NSW
Car: 05' 3R-B Wagon, 00' Daihatsu Cuore
Real name: James
Profile URL: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=31247

Re: Haltech ECU for EZ30R

Postby Tradewind » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:06 pm

applegeek897 wrote:
Jaydnisevil wrote:I've just put a E2500 in my 07 liberty, only I did it in parallel with the stock ECU.
Two reasons, one is that haltech still don't support Cruise control. The second is that there's not really enough inputs and outputs to do everything I wanted (I'm prepping for Turbo)
You can get an I/O box which will increase those inputs and outputs, but that's money I couldn't be bothered spending.

The stock ECU is controlling: DBW, Starter motor, A/C, Alternator, Fuel pump, emissions devices, and Power steering switch, etc.
Haltech is doing: AVCS, AVLS, Ignition, Fuel, Flex fuel sensor, Boost controller, Water injection, Knock control and O2 control, etc.

Works a treat :)

https://i.imgur.com/Y3aCTWd.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/frishOq.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/uVIhKE5.jpg


Very interesting stuff. The factory ECU has also seemed like a really good unit.


If there is a Matt Mcleod in your life the stock ECU can do many many things
2015 Liberty 3.6R (6GEN) - Raptor headers and Raptor SUPER MAF
Tradewind
 
Posts: 2032
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:00 pm
Location: Gordonvale Qld
Car: Grey MY15 6GEN 3.6R - Raptor MAF
Real name: Tim

Re: Haltech ECU for EZ30R

Postby Jaydnisevil » Sun Aug 19, 2018 10:21 pm

Stock ECU can do many things, but I don't trust people that can't or don't explain how they do their stuff ;)
I've seen a lot of people tricked and scammed with automotive products because most don't understand how they work. (Not saying this is what he does, I just don't blindly trust people without evidence)
Nothing personal, I'm sure he's got plenty of happy customers but not for me.

Main reason for the aftermarket ECU is that the 07+ is a Deadhead fuel system which relies on a fairly predictable information such as injector pressure differential, fuel pressure, fuel temperature etc, I don't think it has the accuracy I was after. If it was a return system, wouldn't have been a problem. But turbo is just pushing reliability so I wanted to give it the best chance it can get :)
Jaydnisevil
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:22 pm
Car: 07 BPE 3.0R-B and 05 GDB STI
Real name: Jaydn


Return to 3.0R & 3.6R engine specific

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests